The risks of driving without insurance in Texas

The State of Texas has mandatory requirements for insurance coverage. Driving without insurance coverage in Lufkin has several risks. You risk more than just a ticket or fine, you risk losing your vehicle and possibly your financial security.

Minimum requirements

  • Bodily injury coverage for one person – $30,000
  • Total bodily injury coverage per accident – $60,000
  • Property damage coverage – $25,000

Proof of financial responsibility

  • A surety bond can be filed with the county clerk. Two property owners must be on the bond.
  • A $55,000 deposit in cash, securities or cashier’s check can be posted with the county.
  • Obtain minimum insurance coverage from a provider licensed by the state.

Risks of driving without insurance coverage

If you are found to be driving without insurance, your driver’s license and vehicle registration will be suspended. You lose your ability to drive your vehicle or any vehicle. The suspension can be lifted by showing proof of current coverage. A reinstatement fee is also required; this ranges from $175 to $350.

If you receive a suspension notice, you have 20 days to file an appeal. If you prove that you have insurance, no reinstatement fee is required.

If you are found driving a second time without coverage, your car may be impounded. The state can impound your vehicle for 180 days. This is in addition to the loss of your license. Impound fees are applied at $15 per day.

If you are involved in an accident without insurance, you may face a lawsuit. Without insurance the lawsuit will be directed at you, your current savings and possibly your future earnings.

The State Department of Insurance estimates that 20% of drivers in Texas operate vehicles without insurance. Do not be one of these drivers. As your local independent agent for Lufkin, Texas, we can handle your insurance needs. Contact us for quotes for auto, home and personal coverage.